lasasvote.blogg.se

Can you use a random alternate mac address
Can you use a random alternate mac address









can you use a random alternate mac address

This lets TMAC display the original MAC address in the user interface when the MAC address is changed. The 'OriginalNetworkAddress' registry setting is added by TMAC when it runs for the first time on your computer. Everything that TMAC does is related to registry settings and to disable/enable the network adapter to apply the changes. First of all, let me assure you that TMAC cannot overwrite your hardware MAC address.

#Can you use a random alternate mac address license

Not sure it's the biggest problem in the world since I think the changes to the Windows license agreement tying the authentication to MS account instead of hardware (MAC address) mean it won't get upset about an incorrect MAC address (as happened a couple times when I forgot to revert the change before rebooting many months ago), but it's still kind of disconcerting that it seems to have lost touch with what it should be per original hardware. I've changed the registry again and maybe it'll be fine now (?), but I guess my question is: is there some deeper level storage (somewhere deeper than the registry?) of the MAC address that has been altered by TMAC that caused the above command and a Windows network reset to think the altered MAC address is the original one over the actual original one per hardware? I ran "netsh winsock reset" and rebooted since I'd encountered that troubleshooting connection problems before and it fixed my ethernet adapter being there and internet working, but it was also back to thinking the incorrect MAC address was the original one. I ended up having to dig into some old registry backup data to recover what my original MAC address was and was able to go into the registry and change the OriginalNetworkAddress value and it seemed to work (TMAC reflected it as the original), but, after doing that last night, I started my computer today and the internet didn't work at all (was working on other devices) and the entire registry entry for my ethernet adapter had vanished. Hello, I've been using TMAC for about a year now without issues, but, for the last couple weeks or so, I've had the problem where it could not restore the original MAC address (both through the restore button and the apply preset for original failing) which required me to manually input the original MAC address and press "Change now!" and I'd receive an error saying it couldn't change, but it would reflect it as changed despite the error saying it couldn't.Īnyway, tired of manually changing it back: I searched, found this, ran the above command line, and, instead of returning to the original MAC address for my hardware, it overwrote (!) the original MAC address for my hardware with the alternate one I'd been regularly using selected from the list in TMAC.











Can you use a random alternate mac address