lasasvote.blogg.se

Geographia new york city 5 borough street atlas 2018
Geographia new york city 5 borough street atlas 2018









I came away with the Philadelphia-Camden folding map (Hagstrom also made a Philly atlas, but I never acquired one until approximately 15 years ago.) Hagstrom later moved to Maspeth, Queens in 1982 I interviewed for a job with them on West 33rd, tried again in 1992 in Maspeth, and came up empty both times. That same fall, my mother and I journeyed to what was then Hagstrom headquarters in the same building on West 33rd near 10th Avenue that the NY Daily News has offices in today. I watched for when the mailman was coming like a hawk if I was home. I saved money and in the fall of 1971 purchased just about every city street map all over the country that Geographia offered in a mail order. It wasn’t my first map: prior to that, I’d been collecting Geographia’s “Little Red Book” street guides I purchased from newsstands I already had Brooklyn and the 5-Boro editions, both of which came with a folded-up black and white map glued within. We went to a restaurant and he sent the steak back twice because it was pink in the center (on that, at least, he and Donald Trump could talk about something). Mission accomplished: he stuck with what we got to his dying day in June 2003. The old man was there to purchase a wood wall unit for his stereo equipment. My first Brooklyn map was a Hagstrom purchased at the Gertz Department Store on Jamaica Avenue in the late summer of 1968. I may have mentioned this previously, but I have been fascinated with street maps almost since birth, especially my hometown NYC. I was recently tipped off to the downloadable presence of some 1922 Hagstrom maps of NYC, at least 4 boroughs minus Staten Island, on the New York Public Library website Digital Collections.Īllow me to reminisce.











Geographia new york city 5 borough street atlas 2018